It’s Just Not That Way For Me

14 May

It’s Just not that way for me

The truths you hold self evident,

the things you believe, but can’t see

 

I used to hold my eyes shut so tight, raise my voice

and howl at the night-thinking I was being a light

 

But I was deceiving myself, and was deceived

Almost everything I was taught, thought, and believed,

didn’t hold up to honest scrutiny

 

Believe me, I tried to make a square peg fit

I tried to rationalize away all the beliefs that contradict

 

But it’s just not that way for me

I once was blind, and now I see

that faith was the blinding force

 

Keeping me in darkness, superstition and fear

keeping me in a perpetual state of uncertainity

 

But now….it’s just not that way for me

8 Responses to “It’s Just Not That Way For Me”

  1. ... Zoe ~ May 14, 2015 at 12:31 pm #

    I like how you ended this. It’s just not for me.

    • christianagnostic May 14, 2015 at 3:31 pm #

      Thanks…I don’t do poems very often, so I appreciate the feedback.

      • ... Zoe ~ May 14, 2015 at 3:38 pm #

        Well I like the entire thing, not just the ending but I really like how you put it at the end. 🙂 I think it’s just a really good way of putting it to people who will never understand.

  2. mechanicdude May 15, 2015 at 12:46 pm #

    Ca- A poem is a great way to tell a long story using just a handful of words. -MD

  3. Way Past Due February 25, 2016 at 7:57 pm #

    Wow. Just wow. Feels a little like you crawled into my head. Looking back, I was fully engulfed in my Christian beliefs. I wrote love poetry to God … but then the disillusionment came and the floodgates flew open.

    Really like this poem … thanks for posting. I’ve added you to my reader list and am looking forward to seeing your posts in my feed.

    • christianagnostic February 25, 2016 at 8:18 pm #

      Thanks for reading and taking the time to comment.

      • RedZone908 November 22, 2016 at 4:28 am #

        That poem is my story to a “T”. Thank you for writing this.

      • christianagnostic December 1, 2016 at 11:13 am #

        Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

