Stand Over There…And I’ll Throw Rocks Over Your Head

24 Jan

Just a re-blog from a post done a few years back. Even with my diminished attention to the CA, I’ve still managed a fair amount of traffic and a few new followers here and there.

Also for those, who had no idea I’ve actually written posts about topics other than Young Life. I know….shocking 🙂

christianagnostic

shot_through_the_heart_-_and_youre_to_blame shot_through_the_heart_-_and_youre_to_blame (Photo credit: sillydog)

I was five years old and my friend Nate, who was only four, came over to my house to play.  It was summer time, and we found ourselves bored, with nothing much to do in my front yard.

We were hanging out around a recently planted tree that was surrounded by mulch and a ring of medium to large rocks.

An Idea is Born

As I looked down at the rocks, an idea was  born for our next round of fun.  I picked up a  heavy rock and surmised that if Nate stood about ten feet away, I should still be able to throw the rock over his head.

“Hey Nate!” I yelled over.

“Yes” Nate shouted back.

“Go stand over there, ” I pointed to about 10 feet away.  He dutifully moved to right where I pointed.

“I’m going to throw this rock over your…

View original post 1,033 more words

8 Responses to “Stand Over There…And I’ll Throw Rocks Over Your Head”

  1. ratamacue0 January 24, 2015 at 4:05 pm #

    The examples you gave (before the real one with the twins) seem like a caricature. Are they based on someone’s real experience?

    • christianagnostic January 24, 2015 at 4:46 pm #

      My experiences….all of them. Here’s a link to some of my own experiences with my former church:

      https://christianagnostic.wordpress.com/2012/11/14/musicmans-story-part-1/

      • christianagnostic January 24, 2015 at 4:53 pm #

        I should clarify…some of the examples I cite were situations I either witnessed as a good friend or were told to me first hand, by the many pastors I related to as a worship leader.

        I’d be happy to clarify or expand on anything that I allude to-if it helps 🙂

      • ratamacue0 January 25, 2015 at 4:16 am #

        I read the linked post. I don’t see elaborations of any of the examples you cited here.

      • christianagnostic January 25, 2015 at 6:24 am #

        Thanks for reading the link. I guess it might give you a flavor of what I experienced. I’m sorry it didn’t seem to answer your questions.

        So let’s see if I can do better this time. In my examples section, I am being cheeky and paraphrasing things I actually saw or had related to me.

        I had a friend from college who was a pastoral intern at our church. He was counseling married couples, even though he was married less than 2 years himself. Despite his lack of personal experience, he could be rigid in his advice because he felt his brief training in Biblical Counseling made him a marriage expert.

        My second example, of a woman being hit and told that it was her fault for not submitting enough, was from a couple situations in our old church.

        The third example, about tithing, is almost a word for word quote of our pastor who counseled my wife and I as a young couple learning to handle our money.

        The fourth example, is gleaned from my own family (my mother & sister) and some co-workers who were told some of these very things about suicidal thoughts and depression.

      • ratamacue0 January 25, 2015 at 6:37 am #

        Sorry to hear about those experiences. Thanks for sharing some details.

        I guess I’m trying to gauge just how typical or representative of Christianity those sentiments are. I don’t remember things being quite so blatantly harmful when I was a part of it. But even though my deconversion is recent, I had been disengaged for a while, so it’s hard for me to say with certainty.

      • christianagnostic January 25, 2015 at 7:01 am #

        No problem.

        I wouldn’t say that my experiences are typical. Just typical of an infallible mindset.

        I recently had a long conversation with a family member who has been a Christian for over 40 years. He was dumbfounded and angered by what he heard.

        I think my experience is more typical of the non-denominational churches with a Charismatic or Neo-Calvinist bent.

        Just my 2 cents though…..

      • ratamacue0 January 25, 2015 at 3:18 pm #

        Ah. I was more involved with the IFCA / Baptist types. Not charismatic. IDK what “neo-Calvinism” is, but AFAIK, the groups I ran with were generally not 5-pointers (5 point Calvinism, TULIP, etc.).

Leave a Reply

