Opinion Piece: Young Life Is a Clique Hiding Under the Blanket of Religion

5 Feb

Interesting opinion piece written a few years ago about Young Life.  I believe this is a high school on-line paper.  You can click here to read the whole article.

A couple of highlights and then I’ll go back to my cave….

If you ask any student of Northwest who has not yet been brainwashed by this organization, they will tell you Young Life is as close to a cult as you get at the high school level. It’s a place where only the “popular” kids are welcomed.

Young life is a social organization hiding under the blanket of religion. After Young Life meetings every Monday night, you don’t see pictures posted by attendees of that night’s meeting of the worshipping they did, but instead of the wacky costumes they dressed up in and of the contests they held.

 

And from a comletely different angle, this review of Young Life was written earlier today at greatnonprofits.org :

 

February 4, 2014
I DO NOT LIKE WYLDLIFE FOR MY CHILDREN. As a mother I tell you why I do not like Wyldlife or Young Life. First, the leaders are very MANIPULATIVE with teenagers. They act COOL and Young even though some of them are in their late forties. Second, parents are not encourage to attend any event or group. For example, my daughter attended some meetings about Wyldlife in my neighborhood but of course I was not invited to stay. My daughter at that time she did not say much about it, so I stay out of it since she appreciated the time she shared with her friends form her school. However, after some time my daughter mention me how cool it was to have a counselor and a mentor that she could trust and have fun with. As a mother I did not like that idea and I told my daughter that she could not have any counselor unless I give her permission to have one. Another aspect about WYLDLIFE I DO NOT LIKE is that they get them to excited about camp….once my daughter told me “that’s going to be the best time of my life!”(Camp). CRAZY!!!! The leaders are not honest with parents because they do not tell about their religious influence on children. I think we need MOTHERHOOD for our children not random counselors playing to be cool with our kids to get them to like Christianity using their own theology without parents consent. THINK ABOUT IT. I DID. THANK YOU.

 

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Opinion Piece: Young Life Is a Clique Hiding Under the Blanket of Religion”

  1. christianagnostic February 12, 2014 at 7:29 pm #

    Reblogged this on Young Life Watch.

  2. Maggie Verhoorn February 19, 2014 at 9:52 pm #

    Thank you!!! Someone else who is a Mother! Gets it. It is not right for any adult to invite YOUR CHILD/CHILDREN over to thier house, or anywhere with out FRIST, ASKING THE PARENTS PERMISSION. Its just not
    Right. And very disrespectful.

  3. Logan March 19, 2014 at 3:47 am #

    You seem like a very over-protective, negative influence on your daughter. I’m confused as to why you do not condone her finding comfort and solace within a friendly group of adult leaders who want to help lead kids to Jesus. At YL, kids are freed from the persecution and expectations of being a teenager, and in turn they get to focus on the bigger picture – where they stand with God. You see, a big hinderance to teens going to traditional church is the harsh judgement of the church family and leaders. Being a member of YL, I can tell you personally that my leaders love me and wish the best for me, and accept me for who I am rather than alienating me for the mistakes I make. I strongly hope you reconsider YL for your child because it could be the positive influence in her life all teens desperately need.

    • christianagnostic March 19, 2014 at 3:13 pm #

      loagan-

      That may be your experience, but others have not had such a good experience.

      And besides, parents are free to choose what outside adults get to influence and relate to their teens. It would be irresponsible for them not to…

      Thanks for your comment.

Leave a Reply

