Major Young Life Donor Arrested in Prostitution Sting

13 Nov

Hedge Fund Manager, James A. Bisenius was arrested and charged for allegedly attempting to solicit a prostitute.   He is the founder of Oregon’s largest Hedge Fund and is also a prominent financial supporter of Young Life and it’s Washington Family Ranch in Oregon State.

An older online article, about Young Life in Seward, AK describes Bisenius as a former Young Life leader from Oregon and details how a donation from his Master’s Plan Fund helped their Young Life have the finances to move forward.

You can read the full  reports about his arrest below…

http://www.bizjournals.com/portland/news/2013/09/04/james-bisenius-arrested-prostitution.html

http://www.bizjournals.com/portland/news/2013/09/04/jim-bisenius-philanthropy.html

http://www.buzzfeed.com/mariahsummers/how-a-prostitution-sting-could-take-down-the-largest-hedge-f

6 Responses to “Major Young Life Donor Arrested in Prostitution Sting”

  1. christianagnostic November 13, 2013 at 8:52 am #

    Reblogged this on Young Life Watch.

  2. eugene January 22, 2014 at 11:34 pm #

    What is the point of this post? Simply informative? If so, for what purpose?

    • christianagnostic January 23, 2014 at 2:03 am #

      Informative…To document some of the serious problems that have occurred with YL leaders.

      If you read some of my other posts on Young Life, you’ll get the flavor of why I am concerened about an orginization that targets teens, but has had some very public problems of YL leaders abusing their position of trust.

      This is just another example….

      Hope that helps.

      • Eugene January 23, 2014 at 9:54 pm #

        It’s always a great thing for this kind of behavior to be exposed… especially when the acts are committed by those who in the name of Christ profess to be against it.

        However, statistically do you believe this sickness is greater in the Young Life organization compared to other organizations that work with teenage kids? If so, I’d really appreciate knowing what data you have to support your position.

      • christianagnostic January 24, 2014 at 2:39 am #

        Eugene-

        Do I believe this sickness is greater in YL? I don’t honestly know….I don’t have any comparative data that I’ve worked with to make that sort of conclusion.

        What I do know is that YL is consistently described as being a “safe place” for teens.

        Yet, despite this claim-there have been many instances of YL leaders, donors, and area directors sexually abusing underage teens in their care.

        How is YL addressing these sort of issues? What are they doing differently after a decade in which at least 3 of it’s area directors have been convicted of sexual abuse? How are they attempting to insure that YL is truly the “safe” place they claim it to be?

        I have seen first hand, the sort of non-action that some YL area directors have chosen when confronted by a leaders sexual misconduct.

        This concerns me and should concern any parent whose child is involved with YL-in my opionion.

  3. Eugene January 24, 2014 at 11:49 pm #

    My definition of hell is separation from God. However, when it comes to sexual and emotional abuse of children — especially by those who do so while claiming the name of Christ — at times a dark part of me hopes there is an ‘extra special place’ reserved for these sons-a-bitches. I must admit my lack of grace here concerns me a bit, but the abuse of kids hits me in a place that I haven’t quite completely processed yet. A rather “Sicilian” part of me rises. Thankfully, God is still working on me.

    Great question regarding how is YL addressing this issue. I actually don’t know but you’ve motivated me to find out. Personally I do not know of any past or present YL leaders who have abused kids — but I do know 2 kids (now adults) who have been abused by former YL leaders (I just don’t know the former leaders).

    Clearly YL has to take the hardest line against any behavior like this. If not, the organization would crumble. In this day of 24×7 connectivity, it’s extremely difficult to keep this type of sick behavior quiet — which is a wonderful thing. Obviously it happens, as I stated I know. I’m just not convinced it is pervasive or more than you would find in any organization with people. I could be wrong but my long time personal experience does not support it being a pervasive problem in YL. And obviously even if it only happened once, that’s one time too many.

    I have a friend who recently died that I greatly respected… which is strange because he was an attorney and a Christian (how much worse can it get than that combo 😉 However, he spent the last 20 years of his life successfully defending people who were sexually abused by taking on major powerful organizations from the Catholic church to the Boy Scouts. He went after some organizations that I still support — and I completely supported him taking them on and financially gutting them as much as possible… which was literally hundreds-of-millions-of-dollars. Some of these organizations (again, some that I still support) were severely crippled — and that is an absolutely wonderful thing. There’s something highly painful and healthy about having the crap cut out of you. Sometimes we all need a fresh start.

    There is no place for sexual / emotional abuse of children anywhere. When we see it, no matter what we believe, I would hope we all would loudly rise up and fight the hell out of it.

Leave a Reply

