The Curious Case of the Missing Comment

18 Sep
Sherlock Holmes

Sherlock Holmes (Photo credit: givingnot@rocketmail.com)

A couple weeks ago, I cruised over to the Young Life Leader Blog.

While there, I clicked onto this video

 

 

I then left this short comment, which was deleted in less than 12 hours.

AnonymousSeptember 8, 2012 4:00 AM

While I think the video is clever…isn’t it a violation of the High School’s code of ethics for a teacher to be evangelizing the students in her own school?

Secondly, talking about students sleeping over at your home would also seem to be a major breach of standard code of ethics for a High School teacher?

In my experience, groups that are unwilling to dialogue are groups that are willing to break rules when it suits them.   I’m still curious as to why Young Life feel it’s ok for a public school teacher to violate their school’s code of ethics?

7 Responses to “The Curious Case of the Missing Comment”

  1. christianagnostic September 18, 2012 at 8:11 pm #

    Reblogged this on Young Life Watch.

  2. Neil Rickert September 18, 2012 at 10:22 pm #

    It seems ironic that an omnipotent and omniscient God is such a weakling that he requires special protection such as by censorship in the case you post about, or by jihads in the middle East.

    • christianagnostic September 20, 2012 at 5:52 pm #

      I agree, I’ve always been confused by these sort of reactions. When I was a Christian, I was repeatedly told that we had the truth on our side. If so, then why such a fear of honest questions or criticism?

  3. Tim Hansen September 30, 2012 at 12:39 am #

    While I’m not excusing any avoidance on the part of Young Life, it is worth pointing out that the comment on the video was erroneous. I don’t know about EVERY regional organization within Young Life, but I do know that not every group leader of YL is an employee at a high school in the area, and I think that most are not. Consequently, it doesn’t violate a “code of ethics,” any more than evangelizing from any party not associated with the school, such as a church or temple.

  4. christianagnostic September 30, 2012 at 1:32 am #

    Tim-

    My comment was directed to the teacher that appears in the video. She is a YL leader at the public school where she teaches. It is a clear violation of the school district’s code of ethics.

    I merely asked why YL would be ok with that, and also the fact that she references to kids sleeping over at her home. Another possible violation of her professional ethics code as a public school teacher.

    I am very aware that most leaders are not employed or affiliated with the schools they evangelize.

    I am concerned that YL seems to be unwilling to even entertain the discussion and deleted my comment.

    • BillSan July 18, 2013 at 10:46 pm #

      CA,

      I didn’t like this video either, in fact I don’t like that blog…to me it seems like an issue of the communication platform. I studied PR for undergrad, and what occurred here is exactly what any other company or organization would’ve done, which I know doesn’t make it satisfying. That website is also maintained by a volunteer with the organization, not Young Life the organization, so I think we’ve got to take their actions with a grain of salt and not pin them on the leadership of YL as a whole. I have a feeling if you were to call YL’s service center about your concerns they would be happy to address them.

      Here’s my best shot. As a volunteer, I lead YL alongside a teacher at the high school. Where I lived, the county school board gave the public schools the discretion to deal with these matters as they best saw fit. That particular school saw Young Life’s presence on campus as beneficial and invited volunteers on campus and that teacher was enabled to “evangelize” off school grounds and after school hours.

      Currently, I work for Young Life a few counties over. Their school board abides by the same rule of thumb, but the particular school where I lead does not let volunteers on campus and forbids teachers from sharing about faith. Other high schools in the county mimic the practices of the high school where I volunteered previously. In a lot of areas I think the “Code of Ethics” regarding faith tradition is more of a case by case scenario that is left up to the discretion of the principles and administration. Hope this helps!

      • christianagnostic July 19, 2013 at 12:00 am #

        Bill-

        Thanks for sharing your experiences and your comment…I specifically asked about the code of ethics because I actually looked up this School district’s written policy on the matter. It specifically forbids evangelizing of one’s students. Enforcement may be another issue, but at least in writing, it is something that this or any other teacher should not be doing.

Leave a Reply

