Happy 4th of July…and a Short Video on Open Mindedness

3 Jul

I hope you’re having a great July, so far!  I’ve been busy with baseball games and work.  I haven’t had as much time to write as I would like.  More stories soon…I promise.

No big posts today.  I hope all my friends on the East Coast are staying cool and have their electricity back.  Otherwise, you’re probably sweltering hot and the last thing you’re doing is reading blogs.

Came across a clever video about being open minded and the importance of critical thinking.   Enjoy, and have a safe and happy 4th of July!

 

4 Responses to “Happy 4th of July…and a Short Video on Open Mindedness”

  1. Ahab July 3, 2012 at 4:39 pm #

    Thanks for sharing the video. I’ve had experiences with Christians who urged me to be more “open-minded” … after said Christians spent several minutes proselytizing, having automatically assumed that their was was right and my path was wrong! 🙂

    • christianagnostic July 3, 2012 at 5:44 pm #

      Exactly…In a recent conversation with a family member, they implored me that I needed to keep searching for truth. I agreed and stated that a search for truth is what led me to my agnostic conclusions.

      He then went on a minutes long monologue about how he, knows that he knows that he knows, that Jesus and the Bible are the source of absolute truth.

      The irony struck me, that he wanted me to have an open mind, but that his mind was absolutely convinced and closed on the issue.

  2. jonnyscaramanga July 8, 2012 at 9:22 am #

    That’s a great video. Unfortunately, I’m feeling unusually neurotic this morning, and I strongly feel is should be “closed-minded”, not close. He is saying someone’s mind is shut – closed – not close. This is annoying me too much to finish. I think I’ll have breakfast.

    • christianagnostic July 8, 2012 at 7:17 pm #

      ah, yes…I didn’t catch that. But I agree that closed-minded is probably the better term.

      Enjoy breakfast!

Leave a Reply

