Creflo Dollar Denies Choking and Slapping Daughter…It was Only a Spanking?

12 Jun
Dr. Creflo A. Dollar

Dr. Creflo A. Dollar (Photo credit: iandavid)

I was never into the Word of Faith movement, so I don’t usually follow or comment on the semi-regular scandals that seem to bubble to the surface now and then.

As for the latest,  Creflo Dollar is the on the hot seat, after his 15 year old daughter called 911 and said her father had choked her and slapped her.  Her 19 year old sister backed up her story and an investigation is ongoing.  You can read a brief news report on the incident here.

I guess what stood out for me, was that while Pastor Dollar denies choking and slapping his daughter, he apparently admits that all he did was wrestle her to the ground and spank her.

Wait a second, that’s your explanation?  That’s your defense?  That it was just a little spat that ended with you ( a 50 year old man) wrestling your 15 year old to the ground and spanking her?

I don’t know about you, but the spanking of a 15 year old seems like grounds for possible abuse.  I have 2 teens close to that age and I would never dream of slapping them, let alone wrestling to the ground and spanking them…this whole thing is wrong at it’s core.

If I were one of Pastor Dollar’s 30,000 congregants,  I would want to know how he justifies spanking a child that old.

Wouldn’t you?

 

 

23 Responses to “Creflo Dollar Denies Choking and Slapping Daughter…It was Only a Spanking?”

  1. theaspirationalagnostic June 12, 2012 at 8:23 am #

    There’s a good discussion of this over at freejinger.org today. Many of the commentators on the article cited there are supportive of him; boggles the mind, really.

    Eva

  2. christianagnostic June 12, 2012 at 8:43 am #

    Wow…just wow, the comments of the folks supporting him are just plain depressing. Here’s a link, but be prepared…

    http://www.11alive.com/comments/244082/40/Creflo-Dollar-arrested-for-assaulting-daughter

  3. thebiblereader June 12, 2012 at 1:47 pm #

    if he was a true christian, he would’ve handled it biblical….Deuteronomy 21:18-21….thank god (or whoever) he is not

    • christianagnostic June 12, 2012 at 5:54 pm #

      yeah…at least he’s not as Biblical as he could be…

      • Freedom June 12, 2012 at 6:44 pm #

        Yeah, he could have taken her outside the church property lines and stoned her to death

    • Lorena June 12, 2012 at 7:40 pm #

      LOL!

  4. Ahab June 12, 2012 at 3:32 pm #

    I read some of the comments at the 11 Alive link, and my heart sank. This whole situation with Dollar is ugly.

    • christianagnostic June 12, 2012 at 5:56 pm #

      It’s shocking to me, the way people so freely admit to beating or belting teenage children. Again, how is this ok?

      • thebiblereader June 12, 2012 at 8:57 pm #

        its in the bible, “a man who spares the rod, hateth his son.”

      • christianagnostic June 12, 2012 at 9:17 pm #

        yeah, but that verse only addresses beating sons…not daughters.

  5. Lorena June 12, 2012 at 7:40 pm #

    His flock is obviously brainwashed and won’t hear reason, at least most of them. I think some will leave.

    If a neighbour were to spank a 15-year-old young woman, that would be assault. How is it not assault if the father does it? I don’t think it takes a rocket scientist to understand that.

    Dollar should get jail time.

    • christianagnostic June 12, 2012 at 9:20 pm #

      “If a neighbour were to spank a 15-year-old young woman, that would be assault. How is it not assault if the father does it? I don’t think it takes a rocket scientist to understand that. ”

      Exactly…still boggles my mind that people are defending him, as if he’s a victim of a media smear. Even Biblically speaking, shouldn’t this be proof enough that he doesn’t manage his own household well?

  6. randallslack June 13, 2012 at 2:28 am #

    Apparently not; they gave him a standing ovation! Very sick…

  7. Debra Baker June 13, 2012 at 1:05 pm #

    First, as a still-Christian, the rod is symbolic of parental authority not permission to beat your kids.

    Second, why is everyone up in arms because of her age? Why is it ok to beat little kids but spare older kids? No one should be hit period.

    One of the things I regret as a result of my time in the same cultish church as our dear host is that I ever physically assaulted my children.

    Nothing will take away that shame and regret.

    • christianagnostic June 13, 2012 at 3:34 pm #

      I agree wholeheartedly…I wish I had never spanked my children when they were younger. I think your comment will probably be the spring board for my next post.

      The fact that spanking children has been so “vogue”, with the likes of Gary Ezzo, Ted Tripp, and others really concerns me.

      • Freedom June 14, 2012 at 5:17 pm #

        Spanking in the Protestant Evangelical movement is for the most part child abuse, especially that Ezzo crap. The glue rods, etc, etc are abusive. The fact that any infraction results in corporal punishment is crazy. That they advocate spanking a newborn when you change their diaper is wrong.

        I wonder how many of these kids grow up to be wife beaters. It;s easy to see how it happens – they grow up hearing that wives are to submit and beating with a glue stick is the punishment. So, when they grow up, the wife doesn’t do what the man wants her to do, she gets a beating.

        I remember even when I was in the cult think that these kids were abused by the sheer number of beatings they received on a daily basis.

  8. Donald Miller June 14, 2012 at 7:37 am #

    Well, I’m never one for taking a guy out back and hanging him without a trial. I was saying that when everyone wanted to lynch that neighborhood watch guy.

    In this case, I think it depends upon who the kid is. Most 15 year olds don’t need that, but what do you do if yours is out-of-control? Or maybe Dollar himself was. In any event SOMEONE was out of control.

    AND while, I’m at it, what kind of a preacher calls himself Dollar? If I actually got stuck with that as a real name, I’d sure as heck change it.

    • christianagnostic June 14, 2012 at 7:49 am #

      First off, I’m with you. I am not advocating for mob justice. I just find it incredible that his claim of “only spanking” his 15 year old isn’t raising more eyebrows. Perhaps it is, but isn’t being reported.

      you said

      “Most 15 year olds don’t need that, but what do you do if yours is out-of-control?”

      I can tell you that spanking a 15 year old is probably the least effective of parental options for that age. In fact, I no longer see it as an effective means of discipline for any age.

  9. jonnyscaramanga June 19, 2012 at 11:21 am #

    Funny, I’ve blogged about Creflo Dollar recently. He was a hero of mine as a teenager. I hung on his every word in sermons. And I know I would have defended him over this. If I couldn’t defend him, I would have just said, “Well we all make mistakes. God will forgive him, so we should forget it.”

    That’s why a man in his position can get away with virtually anything.

    • christianagnostic June 19, 2012 at 3:58 pm #

      I agree, he has so many “spiritual” excuses to fall back on.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Future Mad Scientist, DB…Responds to Creflo Dollar and the Issue of Spanking « christianagnostic - June 14, 2012

    […] my last post (which you can find here), I commented briefly, that Creflo Dollar is claiming that he did not hit and choke his 15-year-old […]

Leave a Reply

