Pastor Sues Former Member for Negative Google Review

15 May

Thanks to the folks at The Wartburg Watch for making me aware of this story.  You can find their discussion of this story here.

I was especially interested, because this church is not too far away from where I live.

You  can view the KATU news report here:

KATU-Beaverton Grace Bible Church Sues Former Member

17 Responses to “Pastor Sues Former Member for Negative Google Review”

  1. christianagnostic May 15, 2012 at 8:39 pm #

    Looks like Huffington Post just ran with this story…I would not want to be in this guys shoes.

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/05/15/beaverton-grace-bible-church-oregon-family-bad-review_n_1518399.html

  2. freedom May 16, 2012 at 12:45 am #

    sgm threatened to sue me when I left if I ever said anything bad about them. That was right after I told pastor disaster that sgm was a cult. I thanked him for proving my point and never looked back.

    • christianagnostic May 16, 2012 at 6:09 am #

      “sgm threatened to sue me when I left if I ever said anything bad about them. ”

      That is rich….considering the amount of time SGM pastors spent bad mouthing…well, anybody who was not SGM approved.

      Sorry you had to endure such lunacy…

      • Freedom May 16, 2012 at 12:00 pm #

        Thanks – it’s the same when we all joined up, we had no idea that a dark, sinister, cultic side for sgm existed. I’m glad to be out!

  3. christianagnostic May 16, 2012 at 4:17 pm #

    msnbc.com reporting, has comments from Pastor O’Neal’s lawyer. You can read the article here

    http://usnews.msnbc.msn.com/_news/2012/05/16/11698334-oregon-mom-sued-by-church-over-online-criticism#comments

    In his defense, he (O’Neal) was accused and cleared of the most heinous charge of sexual abuse of children. When I say, cleared…DHS determined the charges were unfounded and chose not to investigate.

    If he was accused online of sexual abusing a child, but it’s untrue or hearsay, than his case might have merit.

    Not trying to take sides, but even if his church is bullying and shunning ex-members (which is extremely wrong and hurtful)….it still might be defamation.

    It’ll be interesting to see how this plays out……

  4. randallslack May 17, 2012 at 10:58 am #

    CA: IMHO this lawsuit is wrong. Jesus endured insults and even defamation, John 8:41: “We were not born of fornication…” (a reference to his mother giving birth to Him out of wedlock, in essence, calling her a whore and Him a bastard).

    And 1 Peter 2:23: “who, when He was reviled, did not revile in return; when He suffered, He did not threaten, but committed Himself to Him who judges righteously.”

    Honestly when a “pastor” feels the need to defend his character in court, he probably has no character to defend.

  5. christianagnostic May 17, 2012 at 12:34 pm #

    “Honestly when a “pastor” feels the need to defend his character in court, he probably has no character to defend.”

    I would tend to agree with you on that…..I thought his statement to the press sounded high and mighty. But that doesn’t make him guilty, though it wouldn’t surprise me. Julie Anne’s postings do not sound like a woman hell bent on revenge, as he portrays. I believe her, when she says she posted online because she was frustrated by their attempt to simply talk and work things out.

  6. Debra Baker May 17, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

    Don’t worry, folks, methinks if SGM were to sue, I would be the first because, as a student at school said so tactfully, I’m one of the few with the stones to speak up.

    • christianagnostic May 17, 2012 at 3:34 pm #

      LOL!!!! Yeah…good luck to SGM if they ever decide to sue.

      • Freedom May 17, 2012 at 4:37 pm #

        Exactly – let them. I would counter sue if they ever tried, mostly to cover legal fees, lost wages and the cost of depositions and getting witnesses in court. Since I live in the DC area, there is an abundance of ex-sgmer’s and I am sure many who would be happy to hop on the stand to testify against sgm.

        sgm will never sue at this point, they don’t to be under a microscope and they well know that they have damage too many to ever win in court.

  7. christianagnostic May 18, 2012 at 4:36 pm #

    I’m sure most of you could’ve found this on your own, but just in case….here’s a link to the woman (Julie Anne) being sued.

    http://bgbcsurvivors.blogspot.com/2012/05/julie-anne.html

  8. Lorena May 19, 2012 at 3:38 pm #

    OMG! I have entire blog posts dedicated to criticize radio & TV preachers. Should I take them down? Whatever happened to civil liberties?

    • christianagnostic May 19, 2012 at 11:04 pm #

      I’m pretty hopeful that free speech will win out…first day in court on Monday….

  9. christianagnostic May 22, 2012 at 9:46 pm #

    Short update for those following this story….according to Julie Anne (woman being sued by former pastor) the hearing went well. Lasted over 2 hours and the next hearing will occur in July. No decisions made yet, mostly procedural from what I can gather.

  10. questionablefaith June 5, 2012 at 4:46 pm #

    Once again, a church giving agnostics and atheists a reason NOT to believe. I feel sorry for this woman. I have always felt a lot of compassion for those who have been abused by the church, partially because I know so many who grew up in the hypocritical shadow of people like this PGBC. I hope truth wins out and this lady can maintain her faith.

    • christianagnostic June 5, 2012 at 5:10 pm #

      It doesn’t seem that this an issue of faith for Julie Anne. As for myself, incidents like this confirm that the church can be used for great harm.

      But my own disbelief has very little to do with incidents of pastoral abuse. I am a Survivor of a cultic church, but my faith was in tact after the fact.

      Just my 2 cents….

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Blogger Sued by Former Pastor Wins in Court « christianagnostic - July 27, 2012

    […] Back in June, I posted about Julie Anne Smith. You can read that brief post here. […]

Leave a Reply

