Quick Question of the day?

6 Jan

If the Bible is God’s word to man, the most important message mankind could ever hear….then why is it so unclear on so many “essential” doctrines?

9 Responses to “Quick Question of the day?”

  1. christianagnostic January 6, 2011 at 11:34 pm #

    One essential that I’m thinking of is the Trinity. It took the Christian Church almost 400 years to settle on a definition it could live with, yet most Christians would fall into a heretical definition when trying to explain this doctrine. If it is so essential (at least the early church thought so)tahn why is it unclear, even to believers?

  2. atimetorend February 29, 2012 at 10:32 pm #

    Of course if you are a conservative evangelical you will have to say it *is* clear on important doctrines! If it isn’t clear to you, it is because you are sinful. But then, of course, sometimes it isn’t clear, so there’s the mystery of God too. :^)

    • christianagnostic March 1, 2012 at 12:17 am #

      Ah yes…..mystery seems to be God’s/ The Bible “get out of jail free” card!

      • thebiblereader May 3, 2012 at 3:28 am #

        God’s/ The Bible “get out of jail free” card

        that sounds like a good post topic

      • christianagnostic May 3, 2012 at 3:31 am #

        hmmm….good suggestion. Maybe I should write one and you can write one and then compare notes…so to say…

  3. graceone May 3, 2012 at 1:01 pm #

    I don’t know. But, even the apostle Paul says that now “we see through a glass darkly. It does seem to me that our finite human minds can only go so far in apprehending an infinite God.
    I don’t think we can fully comprehend or explain things like the reality of the trinity, or the incarnation, even the atonement of Christ. Every analogy or metaphor that we use to image in human terms falls short and is crude in comparison to the thing itself.

    It seems much deeper to me that something anyone can arbitrarily make up. I mean explain this verse, “For it is in Him that we live and move, and have our being.”

    I don’t fully comprehend this, but yet it touches me to my core.

    • christianagnostic May 3, 2012 at 3:34 pm #

      I hear you, not that long ago I probably would have said something similar.

      For me, I realized that with all these things we “Can’t know” because of “mystery”….the question came, What can we know about God?

      • graceone May 4, 2012 at 12:58 pm #

        For me, it all boils down to the revelation of God in Jesus Christ. I think He reveals the essential nature and character of God. “God was in Christ reconciling the world to Himself.”

        I certainly don’t know and understand everything, but I’m persuaded by what I can understand to follow and trust Jesus as Lord.

        Some random and scattered thoughts…:)

        You know AC, I’m an orthodox Christian, classically evangelical, more in the mainline tradition, not a fundamentalist. So, I take a hold of all this a bit differently. Christian faith predates the writing of the New Testament by some decades. People were obviously proclaiming the resurrection of Christ and following Him as Lord long before anyone penned the gospels or the Pauline epistles. I naturally asked the question,” What led to the origin and spread of Christianity even in the face of resistance and persecution?” “Were the apostles delusional or spreading a deliberate lie?”

        I just don’t think the resurrection of the Lord was an idea borrowed from the various mystery cults of the region. I don’t see it. You know, the god coming back to life was used mostly to explain the cycle of the seasons, and is obviously mythical.

        Also, the early church fathers attest to things like the lordship and resurrection of the Lord even apart from the writings of the New Testament. It is not true that Christian faith is even based solely in the writings of the Scripture as some claim. We also have the witness of the tradition of the church.

        For me, questions relating to the inerrancy of the Scripture, certain events recorded in the OT, the interpretation of Genesis, etc. are totally different issues than, “Is the church’s witness true concerning the resurrection and Lordship of Christ,” And, what does this mean in my life?

        I’m going out of town for the weekend to visit my totally awesome and precious grand kids so I’ll be off the computer for awhile. But, I want you to know that I appreciate the graciousness and openness of your blog, and the courtesy of your responses. It is a rare commodity these days on every side of the fence.

        Thank you.

  4. christianagnostic May 4, 2012 at 2:53 pm #

    Thanks graceone….I hope you have a good weekend with your family!

Leave a Reply

